MGMT reveal details of self-titled third album

MGMT have revealed details of their new, self-titled album, which will be released on September 17.

Last week the band announced a series of tour dates, and today the psych-rock duo of Benjamin Goldwasser and Andrew VanWyngarden announced the tracklisting and plans for “unique visual elements” as part of an enhanced album package.


MGMT’s third studio album – the follow-up to 2010’s Congratulations – was recorded at Tarbox Road Studios with renowned producer Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, Mercury Rev, Tame Impala), who also collaborated with the duo on their first two LPs.

The album is billed as a “a diverse and powerful collection of ten songs” that includes a cover version of ‘Introspection’ by 1960s band Faine Jade.

The multimedia element that will accompany the album has been produced by MGMT live show video instrumentalist Alejandro Crawford and is called “the Optimizer”. It will use video and CGI effects to give the listener “a simultaneously aural and optical listening experience”.

The full tracklisting for MGMT is:

Alien Days
Cool Song No. 2
Mystery Disease
Your Life Is a Lie
A Good Sadness
I Love You Too, Death
Plenty Of Girls In the Sea
An Orphan Of Fortune

MGMT play the following dates in October:

12 Oct: Glasgow, ABC1
13 Oct: Wolverhampton, Civic
14 Oct: Manchester, O2 Apollo
16 Oct: London, Forum

MGMT playlist:

Looking forward to the return of MGMT?

Tell us in the comments below (just register first), on Twitter with #wow247 or on our Facebook page