Scottish Album of the Year Award longlist revealed – listen to our playlist
edwyn collins

Edwyn Collins, Mogwai and Chvrches are just three of the acts on the 20-strong longlist for this year’s Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award.

edwyn collins

Former Orange Juice frontman Collins’ eighth solo album Understated is up against a host of LPs by acts from a younger generation including indie rockers Frightened Rabbit and hip-hop trio Young Fathers.

Collins, 54, was left barely able to walk after suffering two brain haemorrhages in 2005, but has since staged a remarkable recovery.

A new film called The Possibilities Are Endless about the singer-songwriter’s musical life and battle back to health, helped by his wife Grace, got its world premiere recently at the South by Southwest festival in Texas.

Last year’s SAY Award winner, the virtuoso guitarist RM Hubbert, is back in contention again with his new album, along with acts like Camera Obscura, Kid Canaveral, Steve Mason and Boards of Canada.

The 20-strong list of nominees has been decided by a panel of industry judges based on suggestions put forward by a 100-strong team of “nominators” from albums released during 2013. Ten contenders for the main prize – one of which will be chosen via a public vote on the official awards website – will be revealed at the end of May, ahead of the winner being announced on 19 June.

Check out the 2014 SAY Award longlist in full

Adam Holmes and the Embers: Heirs and Graces
Adam Stafford: Imaginary Walls Collapse
Biffy Clyro: Opposites
Boards of Canada: Tomorrow’s Harvest
Camera Obscura: Desire Lines
Chvrches: The Bones Of What You Believe
Dunedin Consort (Dir. John Butt) J. S. Bach: Six Brandenburg Concertos
Edwyn Collins: Understated
Frightened Rabbit: Pedestrian Verse
Hector Bizerk: Nobody Seen Nothing
Kid Canaveral: Now That You Are A Dancer
Mogwai: Les Revenants
Rick Redbeard: No Selfish Heart
RM Hubbert: Breaks & Bone
Roddy Hart & The Lonesome Fire: Roddy Hart & The Lonesome Fire
Scottish Chamber Orchestra (R. Ticciati) Berlioz: Les Nuit D’été
Scottish National Jazz Orchestra: In The Spirit Of Duke
Steve Mason: Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time
The Pastels: Slow Summits
Young Fathers: Tape Two

Listen to our SAY Award 2014 playlist:

Share this on Twitter:

Share this on Facebook

What do you think of the longlist?

Post a comment below (just register first), on Twitter with #wow247 or on our Facebook page.


Win an iPad Mini - WOW247