Nick Cave and Nile Rodgers among winners at Ivor Novello Awards

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Chic’s Nile Rodgers and London Grammar were among the winners at last night’s 59th Ivor Novello Awards.

[Nile Rodgers with his Ivor Novello award last night – PA]

Australian rockers Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds won the album award for last year’s Push The Sky Away, while disco legend Rodgers, who played on Daft Punk’s ‘Get Lucky’, won the special international award.

‘Strong’, by up and coming indie trio London Grammar, was named best song musically and lyrically.

Other winners include Passenger, whose song ‘Let Her Go’ was named most performed work, and James Blake, who followed last year’s Mercury Award win with a triumph for his track ‘Retrograde’, which won the best contemporary song category.

Veteran guitarist Jeff Beck, whose career includes stints with The Yardbirds and working with Stevie Wonder, was presented with the award for outstanding contribution to British music, and there was a lifetime achievement award for Fleetwood Mac’s Christine McVie.

Mumford & Sons picked up the award for international achievement, while veteran dance duo The Chemical Brothers won the outstanding song collection award.

The Specials songwriter Jerry Dammers was named a music industry inspiration three decades after his song, ‘Nelson Mandela’, stormed the charts calling for the release of the anti-apartheid campaigner.

The song became an anti-apartheid anthem and Mr Mandela, who died in December, was eventually released in 1990.

The annual awards, known as The Ivors, are presented by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (Basca) and are highly prized because they are voted for by songwriters and composers.

Ivor Novello Awards 2014 winners in full

• PRS for Music Most Performed Work – Let Her Go by Passenger
• Best Contemporary Song – Retrograde by James Blake
• The Ivors Inspiration Award – Jerry Dammers
• PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music – Jeff Beck
• Best Song Musically and Lyrically – Strong by London Grammar
• Songwriter of the Year – Tom Odell
• Outstanding Song Collection – The Chemical Brothers
• Lifetime Achievement – Christine McVie
• PRS for Music Special International Award – Nile Rodgers
• International Achievement – Mumford & Sons
• Album Award – Push the Sky Away by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
• The Ivors Classical Music Award – John McCabe
• Best Television Soundtrack – Ripper Street
• Best Original Film Score – The Epic Of Everest