Bob Dylan announces ‘uncovers’ album Shadows In The Light
bob dylan

Bob Dylan has announced details of his new album Shadows In The Light, which will be comprised of reinterpretations of jazz standards.

The ten-track record includes numbers favoured by 20th century icons like Frank Sinatra and Nat King Cole.

A surprising move perhaps for such an esteemed songwriter, but Dylan reveals that the process of rearranging the classic songs was satisfying enough:

“It was a real privilege to make this album. I’ve wanted to do something like this for a long time but was never brave enough to approach 30-piece complicated arrangements and refine them down for a 5-piece band. That’s the key to all these performances. We knew these songs extremely well. It was all done live. Maybe one or two takes.

“No overdubbing. No vocal booths. No headphones. No separate tracking, and, for the most part, mixed as it was recorded.”

Shadows In The Light is Dylan’s 36th studio album and his first since 2012’s Tempest.

It will be released in February 2015 and is produced by ‘Jack Frost’ (Dylan himself).

But don’t call it a covers album. For Dylan, ‘uncover’ would be a better term:

“I don’t see myself as covering these songs in any way. They’ve been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact. What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day.”

Columbia Records chairman Rob Stringer added:

“There are no strings, obvious horns, background vocals or other such devices often found on albums that feature standard ballads. Instead, Bob has managed to find a way to infuse these songs with new life and contemporary relevance.”

Shadows In The Light tracklisting:

1. I’m A Fool To Want You (Frank Sinatra)
2. The Night We Called It A Day (Sinatra and others)
3. Stay With Me
4. Autumn Leaves
5. Why Try to Change Me Now
6. Some Enchanted Evening
7. Full Moon And Empty Arms
8. Where Are You?
9. What’ll I Do
10. That Lucky Old Sun

Here’s a version of Bob Dylan performing ‘Full Moon and Empty Arms’: